Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC xcountry Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store

Men's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country

Cross Country News

Lane men and Spokane women claim 2016 NWAC Cross Country Championships

Spokane Women Champs photo

Lane Men Champs photo

Click to enlarge all images

Results: MEN | WOMEN

Lacey, WA -- The NWAC Cross Country Championships kicked off with relatively fair weather conditions considering the dark clouds surrounding the skies at St.Martins' University.

The Lane Titan men's team anchored by freshman Michael Martin took the team title finishing just three points better than runner up Spokane 46 to 49. Clackamas came in third with 96 points.

Clark sophomore Sam Garvin performed as advertised taking the men's individual title with a time of 25:47.4 edging Lane's Martin who turned in a time of 25.50.9. Clackamas sophomore Jose Macias took third place with a time of 26:15.2.

The title was Lane's second men's championship. The Titans, who have placed second the last four years, won their first in 1985.

Clark has claimed the last two individual champions - James Breen took the title last season while 2016 champion Garvin placed 7th at the meet in 2015.

The Spokane women's team easily captured their fourth consecutive team title outscoring runner up Everett 31-73 with Lane taking third with 80 points. The Sasquatch placed four runners in the top ten.

Lane freshman Lexi Healy cruised to the individual title turning in a time of 19:00.2 followed by Spokane sophomore Kaylee Marquardt (19:16.5) and Clark freshman Cassie McKinney (19:26.5).

The team title is the Sasquatches' 15th in NWAC history dating back to the initial season in 1978.

Lane head coach Grady O'Connor was named the Men's Coach of the Year while Spokane's Sean McLachlan and Everett's Matt Koenigs were named the Women's COYs.

Event Photos: MEN | WOMEN

Men's Team Results Women's Team Results
1. Lane, 46
2. Spokane, 49
3. Clackamas , 96
4. Treasure Valley, 97
5. Clark, 98
6. Rogue, 167
7. Everett, 171
8. Olympic, 248
9. Green River, 287
10. Mt. Hood, 299
11. SW Oregon, 308
Skagit Valley, INC.
1. Spokane, 31
2. Everett, 73
3. Lane, 80
4. Green River, 88
5. Treasure Valley, 107
6. Olympic, 168
7. Mt. Hood, 176
8. SW Oregon, 198
9. Clackamas, 214
Rogue, INC.
Skagit Valley, INC.
SW Oregon, INC.
Men's All-Americans Women's All-Americans
1. Sam Garvin, Clark, 25:47.4
2. Michael Martin, Lane, 25:50.9
3. Jose Macias, Clackamas, 26:15.2
4. Brandon Hartill, Spokane, 26:18.2
5. Ben Harter, Lane, 26:19.3
6. Corbin Carlton, Spokane, 26:27.8
7. Salvador Salinas, Rogue, 26:30.5
1. Lexi Healy, Lane, 19:00.2
2. Kaylee Marquardt, Spokane, 19:16.5
3. Cassie McKinney, Clark, 19:26.5
4. Jeanna Segaline, Spokane, 19:28.6
5. Harley Strope, Spokane, 19:39.6
6. Avery Daniels, Everett, 20:33.4
7. Mallory Ward, Rogue, 20:38.0

Lexi Healy - women's champLexi Healy wins women's title

Sam Garvin - men's champion
Sam Garvin wins men's title

Everett's Matt Koenigs, Spokane's Sean McLachlan photo Coaches of the Year - L-R: Matt Koenigs, Sean McLachlan & Grady O'Connor

Men's Teams
Women's Teams

Men XC Alumni
Women XC Alumni

Athlete of the Week - Click to view

Cross Country Championships - Click for details
NWAC home