Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC xcountry Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store

Men's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country

Cross Country News

Spokane and Clark win XC Championship Titles

Anthony Brown

Oregon City, OR - In misty weather, Spokane's men and Clark's women  cruised to easy victories Saturday on the campus of Clackamas Community College. 

The Sasquatch men had five runners finish in the top eight, including the top three led by 2010 Champion Anthony Brown, to win by 36 pts over runner-up Everett who finished with 55pts. Lane also trophied with a third place finish with 117 points.

Brown was runner up at last year's championship and with a time of 25:19.88 was 36 seconds faster than team mate Trevin Goodwin who turned in a 25.56.06 time to claim second place.

Spokane's impressive finish of 19 pts has been equaled or bettered by only four men's teams in the NWAACC's 45 years of cross country history. The '74 Spokane men had a championship best result with 16 pts.

Shawna Schooley

The victory marks the tenth straight championship for the Spokane.

The Clark women had four athletes finish in the top ten as the team combined for 40 pts, 24 pts better than second place Spokane who finished with 64.  Last year's champion Everett followed closely with 69 pts to place third.

Everett's Shawna Schooley out kicked the field to claim her second consecutive NWAACC title winning by 7.38 seconds over Spokane's Mikel Elliott who finished second with a time of 18:36.79.

With a combined 83 pts, Spokane won the Co-Ed Combined Team Championship. Everett's team score of 124 was good for second while Clark took third with 164 pts.

Clark's Ryan Hovde was named the NWAACC Women's Coach of the Year and Spokane's Sean McLachlan was selected as the Men's Coach of the Year.

View Results: Men | Women | Co-Ed Combined

Photos: Awards (awards photos are free downloads)
Action Photos: Men | Women

NWAACC All-Americans
Men Women
1 Anthony Brown, Spokane
2 Trevin Goodrick, Spokane
3 JoeyHartmeier, Spokane
4 Bryton Reim, Everett
5 Justin Yoke, Spokane
6 Seth Pierson, Everett
7 Drew Larson, Everett
1 Shawna Schooley, Everett
2 Mikel Elliott, Spokane
3 Briel Thoune, Clark
4 Holly Meler, Clark
5 Tamara Kulla, Clark
6 Megan Dart, Spokane
7 MaCayla Claver, Lane
  Coaches of the Year Sean McLachlan (left) and Ryan Hovde (right)

Men's Teams
Women's Teams

Men XC Alumni
Women XC Alumni

Athlete of the Week - Click to view

Cross Country Championships - Click for details
NWAC home