Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC tennis Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community


Men's Tennis

Women's Tennis

Tennis News

Bellevue sweeps 2018 Tennis Championships - Heidenson named Coach of the Year

Men's Team ChampionsBellevue Men's Team Champions

Photos (action images will be posted when available)
Brackets: Men | Women

SPOKANE - The Bellevue College Bulldogs swept the 2018 NWAC tennis championships today at Spokane Falls Community College.

The Bulldog men's team took four of six men's singles titles and two of three doubles finals to tally a score of 135 to edge Spokane who collected 126 points. The Bulldogs were runner up in three other matches.

Reigning 2017 NWAC player of the year Edgardo Quintero Delgado won the men's #1 singles match over Spokane sophomore Sean Singco in a seesaw battle 6-2, 0-6, 6-2.

Bulldog teammates Emahd Khan (#2 singles), Oscar Cruz (#3 singles) & Chu Chatani (#5 singles) also won championships adding to the Bellevue score.

The sophomore team of Khan/Quintero Delgado along with Cruz/Mique Curry-Edwards collected doubles titles for the Bulldogs.

Spokane won three championships and finished runner up in six other title matches.

Treasure Valley took third with 90 points while Skagit Valley finished with 9.

On the women's side, Bellevue cruised to team victory with a score of 125 to Highline's 90, Spokane's 88, Skagit Valley's 33 and Treasure Valley's 24.

The Bulldogs placed winners in the #1 singles (Chiaki Yoshikawa), #6 singles (Haylie Irving) and in the #1 doubles (Yoshikawa & Aileen Nguyen) and #2 doubles (Kathleen Nolan & Holly Wright).

Bellevue also had three players finish runner-up in title matches to add significant points towards the team title.

Runner-up Highline was lead by Sammie McElwain as champion in #4 singles and four runner-up finishes with Amilia Gogalija (#1 singles), Celeste Andreotti (#2 singles), Gogalija & Andreotti (#1 doubles) and Miriam Cabrera & McElwain (#2 doubles).

The team titles are Bellevue Men's eighth (third under Jason Chapman) and women's 12th ( all under Chapman's direction).

Spokane head coach Wally Heidenson, who is retiring after 37 illustrious seasons as the Sasquatch skipper, was named the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year. Heidenson's Sasquatch won two women's team titles in 2001 and 2002 and had seven runner up finishes while his men's teams compiled seven team championships and nine runner-up finishes.

BBellevue Women's Team ChampionsBellevue Women's Team Champions

Men's Singles Champion - Edgardo Quintero Delgado Men's Singles Champion - Edgardo Quintero Delgado

Women's Singles Champion - Chiaki YoshikawaWomen's Singles Champion - Chiaki Yoshikawa

Men's Doubles Champions - Emahd Khan & Edgardo Quintero DelgadoMen's Doubles Champions - Emahd Khan & Edgardo Quintero Delgado

Women's Doubles Champions - Chiaki Yoshikawa & Aileen NguyenWomen's Doubles Champions - Chiaki Yoshikawa & Aileen Nguyen

Men's & Women's Coach of the Year - Wally HeidensonMen's & Women's Coach of the Year - Wally Heidenson


Men's Tennis Alumni
Women's Tennis Alumni

Tennis Championships - Click for event details

NWAC home